Abbeyfield Canada announces 2020 Robert McMullan Award winners

JUNE 2020 – Abbeyfield Canada president Denis Laframboise is pleased announce that John Frederick (Fred) Jauck and James Galloway are selected to receive 2020 Robert McMullan Awards for Lifetime Volunteering Excellence.

This annual award celebrates the contributions and accomplishments of individuals who have a history of distinguished service and leadership and have made a meaningful contribution to Abbeyfield Canada.

"It is with great pleasure that all of us at Abbeyfield Canada would like to congratulate Frederick (Fred) Jauck and James Galloway for being awarded the prestigious Robert McMullan Award. Many thanks to these two distinguished individuals who have, though their commitments and services to Abbeyfield Canada, made an outstanding contribution towards improving and enhancing the lives of other people in their communities," Laframboise said.

Jauck, from Kildonan House in Victoria, was nominated by Cliff Bancroft, President and Treasurer, DeMezey Memorial Abbeyfield Legacy Society. At 102 years, Jauck is likely Abbeyfield Canada's oldest volunteer and was involved in starting the DeMezey Society, then served as president and in other capacities for most of the past 30 years. During his term as President of the DeMezey Society, Jauck was successful in obtaining grants and loans from various organizations and financial institutions to do much-needed repairs to the architecturally-significant house.



Galloway was nominated by Bill Statten, Abbeyfield Canada board member, for his years of volunteer work with Caledon House and Abbeyfield Canada. He led the search for a suitable property for Caledon House with the House completed in 2010. Jim served as Abbeyfield Canada president beginning in 2013 and travelled to all the Houses in Canada during his presidency. He is truly committed to the Abbeyfield vision and to helping grow Abbeyfield Canada.